Smitty’s President and former Players Inducted into the Manitoba Softball Hall of Fame

The Organization proudly announces that our president; Wayne Deschouwer and former players; Ashley Lanz and Jill Mathez will be inducted into the Manitoba Softball Hall of Fame during a ceremony to be held on May 5th in Brandon Mb.

Wayne and his softball comrades from two teams will be inducted into the Teams category.  Wayne was with the Mariapolis Blues (1976 – 78) where he was a catcher as well with the Gladstone Whips (1997-2001) where he served as coach.

Jill Mathez and Ashley Lanz will be inducted into the Athlete category.  Please click on this link to read about Ashley and Jill’s many accomplishments.

A big Smitty’s congratulatory hug to the three of you.

Read More

U16 Canadian Championships

The organization is proud to announce that together with the U16 team, we will be hosting the U16 Canadian Championships at John Blumberg Softball Complex from August 15th – 19th.  Please visit the championship site for up to date information;

The organizations asks you to consider volunteering to support this event.  Information about volunteer opportunities can be found on the championship website;


Read More

2017 Manitoba Softball Awards

The Smitty’s organization is very proud of their players, coaches, teams and an executive member who received recognition for their successful 2017 season and long term contributions.

Congratulations to:

  • Jaynaya Watt;  Top u12 Player
  • Rylee Konowalchuk;  Top U14 Player
  • Tesia Hrom;  Top U16 Player
  • U14 s;  Top Minor Team, Eugene Michalow Memorial Award
  • Melanie Foster, Scott Neiles, Brigitte Dorge,  Hailey Unger,  and Jeff Aasen;  Top Coaching Staff for a Minor Team, Bill Sadonick Memorial Award
  • Ken Fredricksen;  Outstanding Contribution Senior Womens, Mo Simcoff Memorial Award
Read More